Maximizing Your Florida Workers’ Compensation Benefits
If you were recently injured while working, chances are that you are entitled to receive workers’ compensation benefits. However, insurance companies use different strategies or methods to deny your claim or minimize the benefits you are entitled to receive.
At Berlin Law Firm, our team is familiar with all these tactics, and we know how to fight back. If you’ve been injured, we want to hear from you. Our team is aggressive, experienced, and proactive. Call today for a free consultation.
Here Is What You Need to Collect Payments
Several preconditions must exist for you to collect payments:
- Your employer must have a workers’ compensation insurance policy. In Florida, every employer with four or more employees is required to carry a plan. Construction companies must cover all workers, regardless of size. Special rules apply for temporary agricultural or seasonal workers, but you may be eligible for compensation whether you’re documented or undocumented. Please call to find out if you qualify.
- Rather than working as an independent contractor, you must be directly employed.
- The illness or work injuries you suffer must be directly linked to a workplace accident or have arisen due to the fulfillment of your work duties.
- You must notify your employer about the illness or injury within 30 days of the realization of harm and file your workers’ compensation claim within two years of this date.
According to Florida Statute 440.12(2), injured workers will receive a maximum of 100% of the statewide average weekly rate, rounded to the nearest dollar. This amount changes annually. As of January 1st, 2023, the minimum is $20/week, and the maximum is $1,197/week—the exact amount you receive and the duration you receive it will depend upon your degree of impairment.